Spectacular Spectacular!

Today we took down the Spectacular Spectacular show after a successful weekend. I attended the opening night where many people turned up to see the show and meet the artists. This was the second exhibition I have been part of and was a really rewarding experience. It was interesting to see how my illustrations worked in the contexts of an exhibition.

I choose to display my embroidery hoops as I felt they best fit with the themes of the show. In my artist statement I have explained why:

“This project uses Embroidery and Lino printing techniques to illustrate stories from Angela Carter’s Book of Fairy Tales. These stories have particularly expressive and intriguing plots described in extremely lush and intricate language, therefore making them interesting subject matter.

Embroidery is nearly always a solely decorative craft with no real practical function, it is for this reason that I chose to implement the method into my work as it represents a ‘spectacle’. It is purely implemented into the work for its aesthetic qualities, and for these pieces it is used to add colour to otherwise plain shapes and lines.”

Initially I was planning on having more hoops to display, but after my hand injury I had no time nor did I want to injure my hand further by sewing. I think this would have given more presence to the show as my wall space looked really rather sparse. I think it would have furthered the fairy tale theme also as I would have been able to tell more stories rather than just two.

I began sewing another before my hand got damaged which was on blue fabric and I think this could have helped give my wall area a little more colour diversity and added something more interesting.

Leave a comment