Femininity and Angela Carter: A Zine

After completing my Sahin Book, I wanted to create something that would act as a representation of my academic and theoretical journey over the past year. This zine encompasses many of the ideas and subject matter I have explored and I feel like it is a really good  way to finish the studio work for the year; it allows the work to come to some kind of resolution.

All though short, I think this zine tells a complete journey of my explorations into Angela Carter and Femininity. I have used a snippet of the conclusion from my dissertation as it perfectly offset the themes present in Carter’s work. It adds context to the zine without having to add a large amount of writing to every page.

Some of the pages may seem a little more obscure and may be harder to understand the meaning. I wanted these to be more metaphorical, particularly in terms of the faces page. The faces are used to show the conflict between men and women, with the lady adorning herself as the typical picture of femininity wearing pearls and having rosey cheeks. This page does not have a quote or title on it as it does not come from a Carter story, but more from my own questionings of femininity, hence why it is in colour apposing all the other pages.

The repeated sticks page represents a part of the story where the man repeats a lino of story detailing how an owl flew onto a branch. The repetitive lino prints show how the story is repeated without explicitly illustrating it.

I hope to sell this zine and have it as part of the exhibition. I have never made or sold a zine before, so this will help add to my repertoire for professional practice. It will be interesting to see how successful they are as this could be a good for of revenue in the future after graduation.

 

Much of my design inspiration came from Sophie Lecuyer. I discussed her ideas previously when thinking of making a zine in the blog post titled “lino Printing: Playing with compositions”. I decided against having a completely hand printed zine as I felt like it did not honour the delicacy and craftsmanship that goes into print. It also would have taken a very long time and has not feasible to do with my hand situation. Therefore, a digitally printed zine makes far more sense for me. It also meant that I had a chance to practice further with Indesign and explore different graphic communication techniques. Below are some examples of the design inspiration I explored (including Sophie Lecuyer)(Images taken from Pinterest.com).

Leave a comment