Making the best out of a bad situation

After a week of resting my strained hand, I’ve become very restless when it comes to my work. It’s extremely frustrating knowing that I could be using my time to do some really great illustration but cannot. Therefore, I thought I would try something a bit different; I would paint using my left hand instead of right.

I thought I could perhaps make some loose, ‘wonky’ style paintings of scenes from Sahin that could go along side my book- I could possibly make them into a zine as I’m planning to do with my lino prints. I was inspired by the work of Sunniva Krogseth who creates these wonderful collages of shapes and patterns with incredible combinations of colour that give a celebratory vibe.

I decided to attempt some wonky illustrations of my own, however, even though the whole point was for them to be imperfect, I still found the lack of control too deliberating. My images had no sense of purpose and just looked a mess. Perhaps with more practice I could master the technique, however I found after using my left hand to paint for more than 20 minutes, it would become achey and uncomfortable as I’m not used to using it.

I thought perhaps I could edit the images in photoshop as Sunniva Krogseth’s does would make them look better but even using photoshop seems impossible one-handed. The images appear to look slightly more purposeful when in black and white but still not as effective as I had hoped, especially as most of my work relies so heavily on the messages portrayed with colour.

I look forward to this Thursday when I can do some printing with the help of Tom Martin as I’m feeling very much at a loss without any ability to create.

Leave a comment