SETBACK- Strained Hand

Last Tuesday (30th March) I found out from the doctors that I won’t be able to use my right hand, specifically my index finger. This is because 2 weeks ago I was lino cutting for 3 days straight and must have completely over done it resulting in a very painful, swollen knuckle. Therefore I cannot paint, draw, print, etc. for two weeks. Luckily as I have organised my time fairly well thus far, I should be able to finish all of the actual illustrations in time for the hand in, but Amelia has kindly given me an extension to have the actual printed book finished in time for assessment. This means therefore, that I can keep illustrating and working all the way up to the deadline without having to worry about having the book printed in time.

During these 2 weeks of resting I’m trying to find other things to complete for assessment such as my CV which can be see here. I’ve also been updating my blog (typing one-handed as I am now!) and planning my desk display for assessment. On Thursday I am going to be going into the print studio where Tom Martin is going to be helping me to do the remaining Lino Prints for the show.

I’ve been trying to keep myself busy in this time. but I have found it extremely frustrating knowing I have more work to be finishing without any ability to do it. I only hope that my hand will have completely recovered after the end of the 2 weeks and I can finish all of my work.

Leave a comment